Of Princedom and the Kingdom of Heaven

The laying of the foundation stone of the Carolingian abbey church has been determined as being 822. It was a three-aisled basilica with a square chancel and a chapel annex. The church was consecrated in 844. Prior to 873, this building was extended with transverse arms and a new chancel.

According to the Corvey annals, between 873 and 885 a three-tower complex was built. In the years 1145 to 1159, under Abbot Wibald von Stablo, the remodelling of the three-tower complex was carried out to the still existing double-tower facade; this included the removal of the central tower and the addition of storeys to the two facade towers. Between 1585 and 1616, there was a second major conversion under Abbot Theodor von Beringhausen. Work and renovation to the towers’ gables and hoods was undertaken.

The Thirty Years’ War led to the downfall of the Carolingian abbey church. With the exception of the westwork, the church was demolished in 1665. The building of the new church took place from 1667 to 1671 and was mainly designed by the Capuchin priest, Polykarp, and the architect, Niclas Dentel. The final consecration took place in 1683.

The Carolingian abbey buildings were severely damaged during the Thirty Years’ War. The rebuilding of the abbey began in 1699 under Abbot Florenz von dem Felde and was completed in 1714 under Abbot Maximilian von Horrich. Under the following abbots, Carl von Blittersdorf and Caspar von Böselager, the front building with its clock tower and gate, the carriage house (Justus Wehmer, 1730), as well as the Tea House (Franz Christoph Nagel, 1741) were built.

Numbers Dates Facts
844 The first stone church in Corvey was consecrated
1145 Remodelling of the westwork
1699 Nybygning af abbediet som barok residens

Baugeschichte

Architektur und Baugeschichte

Die Grundsteinlegung zur karolingischen Abteikirche erfolgte im Jahr 822. Es war eine dreischiffige Basilika mit einem quadratischen Chor und einem Kapellenanbau. Die Kirche wurde im Jahr 844 geweiht. Vor 873 wurde dieser Bau durch Querarme und einen neuen Chor erweitert.
 
Zwischen 873 und 885 wurde eine Dreiturmanlage errichtet. In den Jahren 1145 bis 1159 unter Abt Wibald von Stablo erfolgte die Umgestaltung dieser Dreiturmanlage zu der heute noch bestehenden Doppelturmfassade. Dazu zählten die Abtragung des zentralen mittleren Turms sowie die Aufstockung der beiden Fassadentürme. Zwischen 1585 und 1616 erfolgte ein zweiter großer Umbau unter Abt Theodor von Beringhausen. Arbeiten und Renovierungen an den Turmgiebeln und Turmhelmen wurden vorgenommen.

Der Dreißigjährige Krieg führte zum Untergang der karolingischen Abteikirche. Mit Ausnahme des Westwerks wurde die Kirche 1665 abgebrochen. Der Kirchenneubau erfolgte zwischen 1667 und 1671 im Wesentlichen nach den Entwürfen des Kapuzinerpaters Polykarp und durch den Architekten Niclas Dentel. Die Abschlussweihe fand im Jahre 1683 statt.

Die karolingischen Abteigebäude wurden während des Dreißigjährigen Krieges stark zerstört. Der Neubau der Abtei begann 1699 unter Fürstabt Florenz von dem Felde und wurde im Jahr 1714 unter Fürstabt Maximilian von Horrich vollendet. Unter den folgenden Fürstäbten Carl von Blittersdorf und Caspar von Böselager entstanden die Vorgebäude mit Uhrenturm und Toranlage, die Remise (Justus Wehmer, 1730) sowie das Teehaus (Franz Christoph Nagel, 1741).

Zahlen Daten Fakten
844 wurde die erste Steinkirche in Corvey geweiht
1145 Umgestaltung des Westwerks
1699 Neubau der Abtei als barocke Residenz